Victoria Jamieson

Hear ye, hear ye! Victoria Jamieson, at the personal invitation of Jeff Kinney (via Twitter!), will visiteth An Unlikely Story to introduce her new graphic novel, ALL'S FAIRE IN MIDDLE SCHOOL! Following her presentation, there will be a Q & A with Victoria and Jeff, then a book signing.

Tickets will be available Thursday, November 16th at 5pm!

ABOUT THE BOOK:
From the author of the Newbery Honor winner Roller Girl, a heartwarming graphic novel about starting middle school, surviving your embarrassing family, and life at the Renaissance Faire that’s perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier.

Eleven-year-old Imogene (Impy) has grown up with two parents working at the Renaissance Faire, and she’s eager to begin her own training as a squire. First, though, she’ll need to prove her bravery. Luckily Impy has just the quest in mind—she’ll go to public school after a life of being homeschooled! But it’s not easy to act like a noble knight-in-training in middle school. Impy falls in with a group of girls who seem really nice…until they don’t. For the first time, she’s embarrassed of her thrift shop apparel, her family’s unusual lifestyle, and their small, messy apartment. And when her new friends encourage her to do something mean, Impy goes along with it. Before long, Impy doesn’t even recognize herself. Is she the dragon in her own story or the heroic knight?

As she did in Roller Girl, Victoria Jamieson perfectly -and authentically—captures the bittersweetness of middle school life with humor, warmth, and understanding.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Victoria Jamieson is the creator of the Newbery Honor winner Roller Girl. She received her BFA in illustration from the Rhode Island School of Design and worked as a children’s book designer before moving to Portland and becoming a freelance illustrator. She has also worked as a portrait artist aboard a cruise ship, and has lived in Australia, Italy, and Canada. She maintains a not-so-secret identity as Winnie the Pow, skater with the Rose City Rollers roller derby league and has a not-so-secret past as a Renaissance Faire groupie.

Event date: 
Tuesday, November 28, 2017 - 5:00pm
Event address: 
Staff Pick Logo
All's Faire in Middle School Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780525429999
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Dial Books - September 5th, 2017

Staff Pick Logo
Roller Girl Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780803740167
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Dial Books - March 10th, 2015

Signed Copies

Can't make it to an event? We're always happy to set a signed copy aside for you or put one in the mail. Just add the book to your cart, and in the comments section, let us know that you want a signed copy, and tell us if you'd like the author to personalize the inscription (when available). If you would like it personalized, be sure to place your order at least 24 hours before the event. Personalized books must be paid for in advance.

Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram