Sarah recommends

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Staff Pick Logo
Daddy-Long-Legs Cover Image
By Jean Webster, Eva Ibbotson (Introduction by)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780141331119
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Puffin Books - June 9th, 2011

This is a delightful classic written in the format of letters from a lonely, yet feisty and intelligent, orphan girl to her anonymous male benefactor who has generously offered to financially support Jerusha (Judy) Abbott's education at an elite women's college in the early 20th century. Utterly charming!


Staff Pick Logo
Out of the Easy Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780147508430
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Speak - March 4th, 2014

Josie is the teenage daughter of a prostitute who has grown up in the seedy world of the French Quarter in New Orleans. However, she dreams of going to an elite women's college to escape her underworld life. Josie is a smart, resourceful and determined character that will inspire teen readers.


Staff Pick Logo
The Brilliant World of Tom Gates Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780763674724
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - August 26th, 2014

Diary of a WImpy Kid fans will LOVE this new series! 10 year-old Tom would rather doodle or read comics than pay attention in class, and he comes up uwith very entertaining escuses why he doesn't have his homework. Lots of laugh-out-loud moments. Readers will be begging for the next installment of this series.


Staff Pick Logo
Echo Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780439874021
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Scholastic Press - February 24th, 2015

Echo brilliantly weaves together the story of Fredrich in Germany, Mike in Philadephia and Ivy in California. What connects them to each other? A magical harmonica. Ms. Ryan leaves the reader at the edge of her seat regarding the fate of each child and follows up with a satisfying and uplifting conclusion that celebrates music, perseverance and happy endings.


Staff Pick Logo
Some Bugs Cover Image
By Angela DiTerlizzi, Brendan Wenzel (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781442458802
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Beach Lane Books - March 4th, 2014

Kids will love the cute and colorful backyard world of all the creepy, crawly bugs that are featured in Some Bugs. This is a great title for a science unit in a classroom and also serves as a delightful invitation to explore our own magical, buggy backyards.


Staff Pick Logo
The Circus Ship Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780763655921
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - March 10th, 2015

The Circus Ship is one of my all-time favorite read-alouds for preschoolers. The rhythm of the rhyming verse paired with the whimsical and bright illustrations will delight both reader and child. This is a title they will beg to read over and over.


Staff Pick Logo
The Terrible Two Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Jory John, Kevin Cornell (Illustrator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781419714917
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Amulet Books - January 13th, 2015

Milo is the new kid in town who is very anxious to claim the role of the school “prankster.”  However, on first day of school he realizes another kid holds the role of the “prankster” -- someone who is VERY good at it, too!  What follows is a hilarious contest of pranks. Fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid will love this new series.


Staff Pick Logo
McToad Mows Tiny Island: A Transportation Tale Cover Image
By Tom Angleberger, John Hendrix (Illustrator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781419716508
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - September 2015

Children who love to read about cars, trucks and things that go will flip for Tom Angelberger’s new picture book. It is quirky, ridiculous and brilliant that features great illustrations filled with clever details. The loveable Mr. McToad certainly has quite the transportation empire!


Staff Pick Logo
The Hired Girl Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763678180
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 8th, 2015

Set in the early 20th century, Ms. Schlitz tells the story of 14 year-old Joan, who escapes the hardship of farm life and an abusive father when she finds work in the home of the Rosenbachs, a wealthy Jewish family. Inspired by the heroines in novels she loves, Joan is determined to get an education and better herself. Fans of Anne of Green Gables will be cheering for Joan on every page!


Staff Pick Logo
Winterfrost Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763665654
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 9th, 2014

Winterfrost is a charming and cozy holiday read featuring 12 year-old, Bettina, searching for her baby sister who has been snatched away by a mischievous nisse. Bettina’s travels to the miniature world of the wee folk combined with the Christmas season setting in Denmark make this a delightful, read-by-the fire winter adventure.


Staff Pick Logo
Uprising Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781416911722
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing - January 18th, 2011

Ms. Haddix provides us with a detailed account of the horrific Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire of 1911 through the eyes of Yetta, a Russian-Jewish immigrant; Belle, an Italian immigrant; and Jane, the daughter of an upper-class American businessman. This is YA historical fiction at it’s very best.


Staff Pick Logo
Circus Mirandus Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525428435
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Dial Books - June 2nd, 2015

Micah has grown up hearing fantastic stories about Circus Mirandus, a magical circus that Micah’s grandfather visited as a boy. But Grampa Ephraim is very ill, and Micah believes the key to saving his grandfather is finding the circus and following up on a promise that was made by the circus’ great magician, the Lightbender.


Staff Pick Logo
The War That Saved My Life Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780147510488
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Puffin Books - May 31st, 2016

Fans of Lois Lowry’s “Number the Stars” will enjoy this marvelous new middle grade historical fiction featuring 9-year-old Ada and her little brother Jamie, who are shipped out of London to escape the bombs and their abusive mother. A moving tale of two children learning to love and be loved.


Staff Pick Logo
Anna and the Swallow Man Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780553513349
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - January 26th, 2016

Fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas will embrace the deeply moving and intense story of Anna and the Swallow Man who are struggling to survive in war torn Poland. While this title is marketed in the YA section, I would highly recommend this exquisitely written novel for adults.


Staff Pick Logo
Pax Cover Image
By Sara Pennypacker, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062377012
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - February 2nd, 2016

A beautifully written, heartfelt, and poignant tale featuring 12 year old Peter who is forced to release his pet fox into the woods as war approaches their land and they must flee. This is a story about growing up, dealing with pain, learning who you are, and being brave.


Staff Pick Logo
The Princess in Black Cover Image
By Shannon Hale, Dean Hale, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780763678883
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - April 14th, 2015

Meet Princess Magnolia who wears pink, frilly dresses and always looks prim and perfect. But Princess Magnolia has a secret: She is also a monster-fighting, running-and-jumping Princess in Black! This is a new first chapter series that young readers will love!


Staff Pick Logo
Do Your Om Thing: Bending Yoga Tradition to Fit Your Modern Life Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062273376
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Harper Wave - March 3rd, 2015

Do Your Om Thing is a great resource for reco yogis to get a basic understanding of the principles of yoga as well as a refresher/review for the more experiences yogis. Rebecca Pacheco also takes us through her own personal journey, and invites us all to bring the joys of yoga off the mat and into our daily lives.


Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram