Ash Van Otterloo & Spooky Middle Grade Friends VIRTUAL EVENT

Search for Your Next Book

Time to get spooky and be prepared for lots of laughs in this virtual event with middle-grade authors Ash Van Otterloo, Kim Ventrella, Lorien LawrenceAdrianna Cuevas, and Josh Allen! During this event to celebrate the release of Ash's new ghostly Southern mystery book, A TOUCH OF RUCKUS, Ash will be in conversation with four of their author friends that also have spooky and hilarious middle-grade books. It's the perfect event to kick off the fall season! Save your spot in the free event below. 

powered by Crowdcast

ABOUT A TOUCH OF RUCKUS:
A laugh-out-loud, ghostly Southern mystery that's perfect for fans of Cassie Beasley and Natalie Lloyd.

TENNESSEE LANCASTER HAS A HIDDEN GIFT.

She can pry into folks' memories with just a touch of their belongings. It's something she's always kept hidden -- especially from her big, chaotic family. Their lives are already chock-full of worries about Daddy's job and Mama's blues without Tennie rocking the boat.

But when the Lancasters move to the mountains for a fresh start, Tennie's gift does something new. Instead of just memories, her touch releases a ghost with a terrifying message: Trouble is coming. Tennie wants to ignore it. Except her new friend Fox -- scratch that, her only friend, Fox -- is desperate to go ghost hunting deep in the forest. And when Tennie frees even more of the spirits, trouble is exactly what she gets... and it hits close to home. The ghosts will be heard, and now Tennie must choose between keeping secrets or naming an ugly truth that could tear her family apart.

Magic and mayhem abound in this spooky story about family legacies, first friendships, and how facing the ghosts inside can sometimes mean stirring up a little bit of ruckus.

ABOUT THE AUTHORS:
Ash Van Otterloo is the debut author of Cattywampus. When they're not writing and freelance editing, they love gardening, hiking, exchanging playful banter, and collecting folklore stories. A longtime resident of the foothills of the Smoky Mountains, they now live in Washington with their spouse and four feral children.

Kim Ventrella is the author of the middle grade novels The Secret Life of SamHello, Future MeBone Hollow; and Skeleton Tree, and she is a contributor to the anthology Don’t Turn Out the Lights: A Tribute to Alvin Schwartz’s Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark. Her works explore difficult topics with big doses of humor, whimsy, and hope. Kim has held a variety of interesting jobs, including children’s librarian, scare actor, Peace Corps volunteer, and French instructor, but her favorite job title is author. She lives in Oklahoma City with her dog and cowriter, Hera. Find out more at www.kimventrella.com.

Lorien Lawrence is a writer and middle school English teacher from Connecticut. She has creative writing degrees from Wheaton College and Bath Spa University. When she’s not reading or writing, she can be found hunting ghosts with her family. 

Adrianna Cuevas is a first-generation Cuban-American originally from Miami, Florida. A former Spanish and ESOL teacher, Adrianna currently resides in Austin, Texas with her husband and son. When not working with TOEFL students, wrangling multiple pets including an axolotl, and practicing fencing with her son, she is writing her next middle grade novel.

Josh Allen checks under his bed before switching off the light each night. During the day, he teaches creative writing and literature at Brigham Young University-Idaho. His work has appeared in Cricket, Dialogue, Juxtapose, and other literary magazines. He lives in Idaho with his family. Visit him online at www.joshallenwriter.com 

Event date: 
Thursday, September 9, 2021 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
A Touch of Ruckus Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338702033
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Scholastic Press - September 7th, 2021

Cattywampus Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338561593
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Scholastic Press - August 4th, 2020

The Secret Life of Sam Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062941183
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - September 29th, 2020

Hello, Future Me Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338576177
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Scholastic Inc. - August 4th, 2020

Bone Hollow Cover Image
$19.79
ISBN: 9781338042740
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Scholastic Press - February 26th, 2019

Skeleton Tree Cover Image
$8.79
ISBN: 9781338042719
Availability: Backordered - Shipping will be Delayed
Published: Scholastic Inc. - December 26th, 2018

The Stitchers (Fright Watch #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781419756061
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amulet Paperbacks - August 3rd, 2021

The Collectors (Fright Watch #2) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781419756047
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amulet Books - August 31st, 2021

Out to Get You: 13 Tales of Weirdness and Woe Cover Image
By Josh Allen, Sarah J. Coleman (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780823447480
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Holiday House - September 7th, 2021

Only If You Dare: 13 Stories of Darkness and Doom Cover Image
By Josh Allen, Sarah J. Coleman (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780823449064
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Holiday House - August 31st, 2021

The Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780374313609
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - July 21st, 2020

Cuba in My Pocket Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780374314675
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - September 21st, 2021

Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram