Alice Recommends

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Drowned Woods Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780759556317
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - August 16th, 2022

The Drowned Woods is a fantasy-heist novel about a group of unlikely allies who band together to steal from the prince who wronged them. This book was so much fun to read! Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo's Grishaverse books.


Staff Pick Badge
I Kissed Shara Wheeler: A Novel Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250244451
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wednesday Books - May 3rd, 2022

If you liked Paper Towns by John Green but thought it could've been gayer, this is absolutely the book for you. One month before graduation, Chloe's academic rival Shara kisses her and then completely disappears. Determined to find her, she forms an unlikely alliance with Shara's boyfriend Smith and neighbor Rory (who also has a crush on Shara). While piecing together the clues she left behind, Chloe begins to realize there's much more to Shara than meets the eye. I loved this book from start to finish, such a fun story with a wonderful cast of characters that I miss already.


Staff Pick Badge
Gallant Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062835772
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - March 1st, 2022

V. E. Schwab's writing style is so lovely, I have yet to read a book by her that didn't hook me right from the beginning. Gallant was such a cool story, with a gothic/mystery feel that reminded me of A Series of Unfortunate Events.


Staff Pick Badge
The Atlas Six (Atlas Series #1) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250854513
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - March 1st, 2022

I loved this book! Six people are chosen from across the globe, each with their own particular magical skillset, to come study at the Library of Alexandria. While there, they experiment with their own abilities and (attempt to) work together to protect the library's secrets. However, not all of them can stay past the first year, and it's up to them to choose who won't continue on. Morally grey characters, a magical library, and a mysterious secret society? Complete chaos and wonderful fun.


Staff Pick Badge
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781984896391
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - January 5th, 2021

I could not put this book down! A Good Girl's Guide to Murder follows Pip as she does her final project on a murder/suicide that occurred in their town a few years prior. But things are not what they seem, and Pip knows the real killer is still at large. Perfect for fans of small town murder mysteries and true crime.


Staff Pick Badge
Circe Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316556323
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - April 14th, 2020

I loved everything about this book! Circe was such an interesting protagonist, and Madeline Miller's writing is gorgeous as always.


Staff Pick Badge
The Truth about Keeping Secrets Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781728209678
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - April 7th, 2020

Savannah Brown's prose is gorgeous- her background as a poet is evident when reading this novel. In The Truth about Keeping Secrets, we follow Sydney, a senior in high school who has just lost her father in a car accident. However, Sydney is sure there's more to his death than meets the eye. A beautiful story exploring grief, friendship, and first love.


Staff Pick Badge
Six of Crows Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250076960
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - February 6th, 2018

Six of Crows is the "found family" trope in a nutshell, except the found family in question is made up of criminals who don't like each other very much. Their group dynamic was incredibly funny, complex, and at times heart-wrenching, and the story kept me on my toes from start to finish.