Barbara recommends

Search for Your Next Book

Staff Pick Badge
When the Stars Go Dark: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593237892
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Ballantine Books - April 13th, 2021

A gripping and engaging novel full of suspense and hope. Anna Hart feels like someone I know, I want her to be safe, forgiven, strong, and focused to save the missing children. Listening to her thought process, and how she pulls all the clues together to solve the crime. Excellent and highly recommending.


Staff Pick Badge
The Paris Library: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982134198
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - February 9th, 2021

A must read for fans of The Lilac Girls or The Nightingale. Set in 1939 Paris and 1983 Montana this amazing story through time about the brave librarians of the American Library in Paris during the Nazi invasion. 


Staff Pick Badge
Watch Her: A Gripping Novel of Suspense with a Thrilling Twist (A Hester Thursby Mystery #3) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781496726766
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Kensington - December 29th, 2020

Watch Her by Edwin Hill is the third installment in his Hester Thursby series, and each one keeps getting better and better. In Watch Her we learn more about Hester’s past and how it connects to the current mystery. A real page turner, couldn’t put it down story. 


Goodnight Beautiful: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062881922
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Harper - October 13th, 2020

A Cat Story Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062932044
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - October 6th, 2020

A delightful story about being brave, having faith in yourself and your dreams, and friendship. Wonderful and playful illustrations.


Staff Pick Badge
All the Devils Are Here: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel #16) Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250145239
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Minotaur Books - September 1st, 2020

Louise Penny just gets better and better. Her latest surrounds Armand Gamche and his family in Paris, but still keeps us connected to Three Pines.


Staff Pick Badge
The Last Story of Mina Lee Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780778310174
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Park Row - September 1st, 2020

The Last Story of Mina Lee is a beautiful debut novel for Nancy Jooyoun Kim. It made me laugh, cry, and wish for one more conversation with my late mother.Terrific story full of imagery and a self conscious look at being an immigrant in America . Highly recommending.


Staff Pick Badge
Little Disasters: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501172229
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Atria/Emily Bestler Books - August 18th, 2020

Sarah Vaughan has touched upon the psyche and inner fears of every parent in this riveting thriller. I am highly recommending this novel.


Staff Pick Badge
East of Hounslow (Jay Qasim, Book 1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780008308735
Availability: Available to Order
Published: HQ - July 28th, 2020

A new voice for a classic spy thriller. Khurrum Rahman has written a fast paced, hard to put down modern day spy novel. A look at Muslims and Extremists and how we are all more alike than different.


Staff Pick Badge
The Missing Ones (A Hester Thursby Mystery #2) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781496719348
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kensington - July 28th, 2020

This 2nd Hester Thursby mystery is even more of a page-turner tahn the first.  In this fast-paced thriller, we learn more about Hester and why she does what she does.  Children have gone missing , only to be found -- but who is taking them?   Read this to find out!


Staff Pick Badge
Things You Save in a Fire: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250622129
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - July 14th, 2020

What is courage?  In this novel, Katherine Center shows us all the levels of courage and how sometimes we can't see just how brave someone is.  A great read and a heroic characters!


Staff Pick Badge
How Lulu Lost Her Mind Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781982118112
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Gallery Books - July 21st, 2020

This story made me laugh and cry and then laugh again. So much of what adult children go through with their parents, and how we need to look at life with love and compassion.


Staff Pick Badge
The Shadows: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250318039
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Celadon Books - July 7th, 2020

Highly Recommending this twisty page turner by Alex North. A story that pulls you in and makes you care about the characters and then delivers a twist that makes you reevaluate what you know and pulls you right back in.


Staff Pick Badge
The Escape Room: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250219664
Availability: Available to Order
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - July 7th, 2020

This gripping thriller will keep you guessing until the end.  Imagine being locked in an elevator with the people who share your secrets but are not to be trusted.  Will they make it out alive?


Staff Pick Badge
Always the Last to Know Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780451489456
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Berkley - June 9th, 2020

I love how Kristan Higgins makes you love her characters right away and has you hoping for the best for everyone. In Always the Last to Know, the Frost family is on the verge of collapse when a family emergency requires them to reevaluate and face the past and the future with open eyes. Highly recommending!


Staff Pick Badge
The View from Here: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982114503
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria/Emily Bestler Books - June 2nd, 2020

A fun summer read that gets you dreaming of days on the water and family gatherings. Hannah McKinnon tells a good story that covers the gamut of what family is. Mostly that family is important.


Staff Pick Badge
An Elegant Woman: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781501179570
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Scribner - June 2nd, 2020

Martha McPhee has written a wonderful story showing the good, the bad, and the ugly of life and the joys of family. I thoroughly enjoyed the back and forth through history as we learned the details of family history that were for the general public, and what is kept just for family to know. excellent read, highly recommending .


Staff Pick Badge
A Week at the Shore: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781250119513
Published: St. Martin's Press - May 19th, 2020

Great must read book for summer. Barbara Delinsky gives you characters you can relate to and family you have or wish you had. A story go three sisters who reunite for a week at home in Rhode Island to finally settle some old family differences. Thoroughly enjoyed this and am highly recommending it.


Staff Pick Badge
Bezonomics: How Amazon Is Changing Our Lives and What the World's Best Companies Are Learning from It Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982113636
Availability: Backordered - Shipping will be Delayed
Published: Scribner - May 12th, 2020

Interesting read especially in the times we are now living in.


Staff Pick Badge
The Upside of Being Down: How Mental Health Struggles Led to My Greatest Successes in Work and Life Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982108816
Availability: Backordered - Shipping will be Delayed
Published: Gallery Books - March 24th, 2020

A timely and endearing biography with an honest look at living and thriving while dealing with anxiety, ADD, depression, and bi-polar issues. Jen gives us a look into the ups and downs she's incurred and survived as she founded and continues to run her business Ban.do. Leaves you with a positive feeling and a desire to pay it forward.  


Staff Pick Badge
The Astonishing Life of August March: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780062939388
Published: Harper - April 7th, 2020

Highly Recommending. Such a fun read, and OMG so much to discuss and think about. I am recommending this to my book club as our next read. The Astonishing Life of August March is truly amazing. Carelessly born and abandoned in a NYC theatre August learns to look after himself and leads an adventurous life.


Staff Pick Badge
American Pop: A Novel Cover Image
$18.69
ISBN: 9780062697752
Availability: Available to Order
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - February 18th, 2020

A story about an American family whose fortunes rise and fall with the country's.  This twisty read will keep you engaged from the beginning to the end.


Staff Pick Badge
Stalker: A novel (Killer Instinct #5) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780525433064
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard - January 28th, 2020

I enjoyed this mystery -- the characters support and enhance each others' sleuthing skills.  A stalker is toying with the natural criems unit, and it will take the skills of a trauma expert/hypnotist to find him.


Staff Pick Badge
Wild Bill: The True Story of the American Frontier's First Gunfighter Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250178169
Availability: Available to Order
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - January 7th, 2020

All I knew of Wild Bill Hickock was what I'd seen in the movies; his life was so much more interesting!  A gunfigter, yes, but truly an American legend.


Staff Pick Badge
A Well-Behaved Woman: A Novel of the Vanderbilts Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250095480
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - October 1st, 2019

I did not know this history of the Vanderbilts. Alva is strong willed and fierce in doing what she thinks is best for her family.


Staff Pick Badge
Life and Other Inconveniences Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780451489425
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - August 6th, 2019

Kristin Higgins has done it again.  What could happen when your estranged grandmother calls and needs your help?  Could you forgive?  Would life be better or worse?  The London family will keep you engaged till the end.


Little Comfort (A Hester Thursby Mystery #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781496720665
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kensington - July 30th, 2019

This is a pager turner with an ending that will stick with you. Hester Thursby has become a memorable investigator! This mystery will not disappoint you.


Rosie Colored Glasses Cover Image
$18.69
ISBN: 9780778308508
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Mira Books - June 11th, 2019

A thought provoking read. Follow Willow as she navigates her world after her parents separate. Share her parents views on love and the best way to move on from love and loss.


Staff Pick Badge
Before and Again: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250125163
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - June 4th, 2019

This is a story about love, loss, and what comes next. This page turner takes you to the debilitating fear of anxiety and learning to live.


Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram