Barbara recommends

Staff Pick Badge
American Pop: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062697745
Availability: Available to Order
Published: William Morrow - February 5th, 2019

A story about an American family whose fortunes rise and fall with the country's.  This twisty read will keep you engaged from the beginning to the end.


Staff Pick Badge
Wild Bill: The True Story of the American Frontier's First Gunfighter Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250173799
Availability: Available to Order
Published: St. Martin's Press - February 5th, 2019

All I knew of Wild Bill Hickock was what I'd seen in the movies; his life was so much more interesting!  A gunfigter, yes, but truly an American legend.


Staff Pick Badge
Stalker: A novel (Joona Linna #5) Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781524732264
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Knopf - February 5th, 2019

I enjoyed this mystery -- the characters support and enhance each others' sleuthing skills.  A stalker is toying with the natural criems unit, and it will take the skills of a trauma expert/hypnotist to find him.


Staff Pick Badge
The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062674951
Availability: Backordered
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - December 31st, 2018

A story of strength and friendship set against the backdrop of post-war Britain and a royal wedding. A must read for fans of The Crown and Victoria.


Staff Pick Badge
A Well-Behaved Woman: A Novel of the Vanderbilts Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250095473
Availability: Available to Order
Published: St. Martin's Press - October 16th, 2018

I did not know this history of the Vanderbilts. Alva is strong willed and fierce in doing what she thinks is best for her family.


Staff Pick Badge
Little Comfort (A Hester Thursby Mystery #1) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781496715906
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Kensington - August 28th, 2018

This is a pager turner with an ending that will stick with you. Hester Thursby has become a memorable investigator! This mystery will not disappoint you.


Staff Pick Badge
Good Luck with That Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780451489395
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Berkley - August 7th, 2018

An excellent story about friendship and loss. Three childhood friends each deal with that sometimes unhelpful voice in your head. Will they find happiness?


Staff Pick Badge
Before and Again: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250119490
Availability: Available to Order
Published: St. Martin's Press - June 26th, 2018

This is a story about love, loss, and what comes next. This page turner takes you to the debilitating fear of anxiety and learning to live.


Staff Pick Badge
The Perfect Mother: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062696793
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Harper - May 2018

The Perfect Mother is a perfect read, it is full of characters you can relate to or care about, and the plot twists keep you hanging on and reading to find out how it all ends. I had trouble putting it down.


Staff Pick Badge
My American Dream: A Life of Love, Family, and Food Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9781524731618
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Knopf - April 3rd, 2018

I've always enjoyed the tidbits Lydia shared in her cookbooks and show about her family and history. this brings it all together. Lydia's story is inspiring, entertaining, and might make you hungry for a classic Italian dinner.


Staff Pick Badge
Rosie Colored Glasses Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780778330691
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Mira Books - February 20th, 2018

A thought provoking read. Follow Willow as she navigates her world after her parents separate. Share her parents views on love and the best way to move on from love and loss.


Staff Pick Badge
White Houses: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812995664
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Random House - February 13th, 2018

A remarkable story about two remarkable women. Amy Bloom defines what love it, not always passionate, but always there, a good friend, someone who is truthful, will argue with you, and always love you.


Staff Pick Badge
Advice Not Given: A Guide to Getting Over Yourself Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399564321
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Penguin Press - January 16th, 2018

While I am not a Buddhist, the mindfulness practices in this book are timely and helpful. A different perspective on how to view yourself in the world. Love the closing paragraphs.


Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram