Bill recommends

Staff Pick Logo
The Far Field Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780802128409
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Grove Press - January 15th, 2019

After a young woman's mopther dies, she heads back to India then begins a search for the male friend (and maybe more) of her mother to tell him she has died.  He disappeared into Kashmir years ago, and her journey exposes family secrets.  A perfect blend of political historical novel and coming of age novel, The Far Field is absolutely wonderful and perfect for fans of The Kite Runner!


Staff Pick Logo
The Girls at 17 Swann Street: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250202444
Availability: Available to Order
Published: St. Martin's Press - February 5th, 2019

THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET is a very special book, the kind you want to thrust into your friends' hands and shout "Read this!" In lyrical, dream-like language, Yara Zgheib introduces a young woman with anorexia and her battle against the disease...and against herself. When she joins other women with eating disorders at the titular house, she escapes into memory as a defense mechanism, only realizing later that she must find something to live for in order to actually live. Her journey is harrowing, but also full of hope and love and featuring a terrific love story in how she met her husband. this is a book about anorexia in the same way that BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN is a book about gay cowboys. The subject is there, but the handling is so beautiful, it transcends description. All I can do is thrust it in your hands and say, "Read this!" What a remarkable book!
 
 


Staff Pick Logo
The Silent Patient Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250301697
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Celadon Books - February 5th, 2019

This is, simply put, one of the best thrillers in years and certain to be a best-seller. It's also the first mystery in years that made me gasp aloud at the twist...or at least at one twist, as there are many throughout the book. Obsession, murder, and compulsion lie at the heart of what makes a psychotherapist become enamored with his new patient, a woman who never speaks after she murdered her husband, but when all is revealed, the reader becomes an accessory to the crime(s). I loved every page of this one! The best thriller in ages!


Staff Pick Logo
Leading Men: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525559054
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Viking - February 12th, 2019

LEADING MEN by Christopher Castellani is, simply put, a magnificent piece of historical fiction.  While examining the time when Tennessee Williams went to Italy with his long-time lover Frank Merlo to write sequences for Vuisconti's film SENSO, Castellani introduces us to a world forgotten and fabulous.  From parties at Truman Capote's villa to the dizzying extravagant film sets, Frank and Tennessee meet a young actress and another writer, one long-since forgotten, John Horne Burns and his lover, which leads to an examination of 'the sidekick/the other'.  What does it mean to be a muse, and can a muse ever hope to mean as much to an artist as his actual art?  Castellani, through luscious prose and delicate plotting, delves into the heart of what it means to be loved as well as what it means to have BEEN loved -- two very different things.  This is the best book I have read in ages, and I cannot wait to tell my customers all about it.  It's the kind of popular literary novel that catches fire in your brain and just refuses to let go.  I loved every p


Staff Pick Logo
Looker: A Novel Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781501199110
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Scribner - January 8th, 2019

If Patricia Highsmith had written the film REPULSION, it would resemble this dark, disturbing psychological novel of obsession and madness.  If you liked THE PERFECT NANNY, you will enjoy this one, too.


Staff Pick Logo
Virgil Wander Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780802128782
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Grove Press - October 2nd, 2018

This delightful book deals with the loss of small-town Main Street and how it is affecting our small towns as well as the eccentric characters who live there.  Funny, sweet, and full of people I want to know, this is a great new novel.


Staff Pick Logo
Tin Man: A Novel Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9780735218727
Availability: Available to Order
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - May 15th, 2018

This little book packs a real emotional punch!  Van Gogh's sunflowers, a mother's love for her son, and an enduring friendship all come together to make this one of the best novels of 2018.


Staff Pick Logo
Tell the Wolves I'm Home: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812982855
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Dial Press Trade Paperback - June 4th, 2013

The incredibly moving novel is about a young girl who discovers her beloved uncle had someone in his life, and she wants to know him.  This book beautifully navigates the rebellious years of a teenage girl as well as the crippling effects of the AIDS crisis.


Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram