The Stepping Off Place (Hardcover)

The Stepping Off Place Cover Image
$17.99
Available to Order

Description


From debut author Cameron Kelly Rosenblum comes a stunning teen novel that tackles love, grief, and mental health as one girl must process her friend’s death and ultimately learn how to stand in her own light. Perfect for fans of All the Bright Places and We Were Liars.

It’s the summer before senior year. Reid is in the thick of Scofield High’s in-crowd thanks to her best friend, Hattie, who has been her social oxygen since middle school.

But summer is when Hattie goes to her family’s Maine island home. Instead of sitting inside for eight weeks, waiting for her to return, Reid and their friend, Sam, enter into a pact—to live it up, one party at a time.

But days before Hattie is due home, Reid finds out the shocking news that Hattie has died by suicide. Driven by a desperate need to understand what went wrong, Reid searches for answers.

In doing so, she uncovers painful secrets about the person she thought she knew better than herself. And the truth will force Reid to reexamine everything.

About the Author


Cameron Kelly Rosenblum grew up in Connecticut. She studied English literature at Kenyon College and earned a master’s in education at Lesley University. Her time as a teacher and children’s librarian inspired her to write for young people. The Stepping Off Place is her debut novel. Cameron lives near Portland, Maine, with her husband, son, daughter, two dogs, and a cat. Visit her online at www.cameronrosenblum.com or on Twitter @ckellyrose.

Praise For…


“Riveting, aching, and devastating in the best ways, [Cameron] Kelly Rosenblum’s moving debut is my favorite Young Adult novel of 2020.”
— Kim Savage, author of the critically acclaimed After the Woods, Beautiful Broken Girls, and In Her Skin

“A spectacular novel! A page turner that lingers.”
— Lynda Mullaly Hunt, author of New York Times bestseller Fish in a Tree and Bank Street Best Book, One for the Murphys

“This story captures all the passion and insecurity inherent in coming of age friendships. A not-to-be-missed debut that will make you laugh and cry, and ultimately embrace the multi-faceted, complex nature of existence.” 
— Estelle Laure, author of This Raging Light

"Mysterious, playful, tender, and deeply true to its unforgettable heroines, you will fall in love with this story of an iridescent friendship and its unfathomable loss." 
New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson  

"The large cast of characters are well and sensitively drawn. The novel doesn’t glorify suicide or dwell on the details of death. Instead it explores loss, futility, honesty, and love, with a richness of prose and excellence of characterization rare in a first-time author. A story to savor."
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Rosenblum's debut novel is a beautifully written examination not only of the sadness of grief, but of the uncertainty it can bestow upon everything. Perfect fans of Jennifer Niven's All the Bright Places, [this] is a novel that moves beyond a story of loss into one of self-discovery."
Booklist
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062932075
ISBN-10: 0062932071
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: July 28th, 2020
Pages: 480
Language: English

Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram