Royal Bastards (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Royal Bastards Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Not Available at This Time

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Royal Bastards series.

Staff Reviews


For once the bastard is the knight in shining armor! In this hilarious, young adult adventure, daughter of Lord Kent, Tilla and her fellow bastard friends go on a journey to stop a budding revolution. This book is a terrific tale of love, friendship, bravery and self-discovery. Perfect for fans of My Lady Jane and A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue.

— Kayla Roy

Description


"Jon Snow won't be the only 'bastard' whose name readers will remember." -- Entertainment Weekly

Being a bastard blows. Tilla would know. Her father, Lord Kent of the Western Province, loved her as a child, but cast her aside as soon as he had trueborn children. At sixteen, Tilla spends her days exploring long-forgotten tunnels beneath the castle with her stablehand half-brother, Jax, and her nights drinking with the servants, passing out on Jax's floor while her castle bedroom collects dust. Tilla longs to sit by her father's side, enjoying feasts with the rest of the family. Instead, she sits with the other bastards, like Miles of House Hampstedt, an awkward scholar who's been in love with Tilla since they were children.

Then, at a feast honoring the visiting princess Lyriana, the royal shocks everyone by choosing to sit at the Bastards' Table. Before she knows it, Tilla is leading the sheltered princess on a late-night escapade. Along with Jax, Miles, and fellow bastard Zell, a Zitochi warrior from the north, they stumble upon a crime they were never meant to witness.

The bastards band together, realizing they alone have the power to prevent a civil war that will tear their kingdom apart -- if they can warn the king in time. And if they can survive the journey...

About the Author


Andrew Shvarts is the author of the Royal Bastards trilogy. He has a BA in English Literature and Russian from Vassar College. He works for Pixelberry Studios, making mobile games like High School Story, Choices, and more. Andrew lives in San Jose, California, with his wife, son, and two kittens. Find him on Twitter @Shvartacus.

Praise For…


"Jon Snow won't be the only 'bastard' whose name readers will remember."
Entertainment Weekly

"Shvarts combines mystery, romance, and fantasy with dynamic and diverse characters of different ethnicities to create a book that is difficult to put down. This story has something for everyone; readers will be clamoring for the sequel."
VOYA

"Shvarts' action-packed debut champions diversity, counsels perseverance, and highlights the human cost of war. The pace is zippy, Shvarts' mythology is rich, and...the conclusion packs thrills and a serious emotional wallop."
Publishers Weekly

"Shvarts
creates a diverse world with distinct geography and subcultures for this
series opener. Adventure-loving fantasy readers will eat it up."
Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9781484790083
ISBN-10: 1484790081
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 8th, 2018
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Royal Bastards

Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram