White Ivy: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
White Ivy: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


White Ivy by Susie Yang is the epitome of a page-turner.  Ivy, a first generation Chinese immigrant, rebels against her parents only to end up caught up in a love triangle with the man she loved as a teenager and a gangster who she also knew in her youth.  The twists and turns come swiftly as we race toward a noir ending that's reminiscent of The Postman Always Rings Twice.  The characters are pretty unlikeable, but that doesn't diminish the fact that you will burn through the pages to discover what happens next! This is brilliant escapism, and we all need that so desperately right now. I loved it, and it will be perfect for fans of Lauren Groff or Celeste Ng!

— From Bill recommends

Description


A dazzling debut novel about a young woman’s dark obsession with her privileged classmate and the lengths she’ll go to win his love—from prizewinning Chinese American author Susie Yang.

Ivy Lin is a thief and a liar—but you’d never know it by looking at her.

Raised outside of Boston, Ivy’s immigrant grandmother relies on Ivy’s mild appearance for cover as she teaches her granddaughter how to pilfer items from yard sales and second-hand shops. Thieving allows Ivy to accumulate the trappings of a suburban teen—and, most importantly, to attract the attention of Gideon Speyer, the golden boy of a wealthy political family. But when Ivy’s mother discovers her trespasses, punishment is swift and Ivy is sent to China, and her dream instantly evaporates.

Years later, Ivy has grown into a poised yet restless young woman, haunted by her conflicting feelings about her upbringing and her family. Back in Boston, when Ivy bumps into Sylvia Speyer, Gideon’s sister, a reconnection with Gideon seems not only inevitable—it feels like fate.

Slowly, Ivy sinks her claws into Gideon and the entire Speyer clan by attending fancy dinners, and weekend getaways to the cape. But just as Ivy is about to have everything she’s ever wanted, a ghost from her past resurfaces, threatening the nearly perfect life she’s worked so hard to build.

Filled with surprising twists and offering sharp insights into the immigrant experience, White Ivy is both a love triangle and a coming-of-age story, as well as a glimpse into the dark side of a woman who yearns for success at any cost.

About the Author


Susie Yang was born in China and came to the United States as a child. After receiving her doctorate of pharmacy from Rutgers, she launched a tech startup in San Francisco that has taught 20,000 people how to code. She has studied creative writing at Tin House and Sackett Street. She has lived across the United States, Europe, and Asia, and now resides in the UK. White Ivy is her first novel.

Praise For…


"A truly addictive read." — Glamour

"It's a testament to Susie Yang's skill that she can explore and upend our ideas of class, race, family, and identity while moving us through a plot that twists in such wonderful ways. But none of that would matter nearly as much if not for the truly unforgettable narrator, Ivy, who is so hypnotic, the way her voice feels both wild and controlled. She ran right through me." — Kevin Wilson, New York Times bestelling author of Nothing to See Here

White Ivy is dark and delicious. Ivy Lin eviscerates the model minority stereotype with a smile on her lips and a boot on your neck. Cancel your weekend plans, because you won’t be able to take your eyes off Ivy Lin.” — Lucy Tan, author of What We Were Promised

White Ivy is magic and a necessary corrective both to the stereotypes and the pieties that too easily characterize the immigrant experience. Most pleasing of all is the story of Ivy Lin, a daring young woman in search of herself, and not soon to be forgotten.” — Joshua Ferris, prize-winning author of To Rise Again at a Decent Hour 

"Elegant and terrifying, steely and sparkling, White Ivy is a propulsive story told with the satisfying simplicity of a classic." — Rebecca Dinerstein Knight, author of Hex

"Bold, daring, and sexy, White Ivy is the immigrant story we’ve been dying to hear. Rather than submit to love, Ivy seeks it out, sinks her teeth into it, and doesn’t let go. A stunning debut." — Neel Patel, author of If You See Me, Don't Say Hi
 
Product Details
ISBN: 9781982100599
ISBN-10: 1982100591
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: September 8th, 2020
Pages: 368

Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram