Caitlin recommends

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Staff Pick Logo
The Dangerous Art of Blending In Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062659002
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 30th, 2018

Evan is good at blending in: he's an artist, but he doesn't show anyone his work; he's gay, but no one knows it; and his home life is a nightmare, but he won't tell anyone. However, one by one, each secret comes to light and suddenly he's not flying under the radar anymore. But as he tries to go back into hiding, he realizes he may not like being invisible anymore. This intense coming-of-age novel is great for fans of Chris Crutcher and David Levithan, with some Becky Albertalli mixed in.


Staff Pick Logo
The Poet X Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062662804
Availability: Available to Order
Published: HarperTeen - March 6th, 2018

Xiomara doesn't fit in -- not at school, home, or in any clique of friends. Poetry is her man outlet, and a secret from her family. As she finds her footing through words, she must decide whether to use her voice or hide who she is. This uplifting coming-of-age novel-in-verse packs a punch!


Staff Pick Logo
The Inexplicable Logic of My Life Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544586505
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Clarion Books - March 7th, 2017

Salvador, nicknamed "Salvie," is an adopted teenager living with his single dad. Together, they have a great life until his senior year starts. Amidst school fights and new revelations about his own family, Salvie and his friends must band together to finish their school year. This is a moving portrayal of the power of friendship. Funny and uplifting!


Staff Pick Logo
The Thief (Queen's Thief #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062642967
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Greenwillow Books - February 28th, 2017

Eugenides can steal anything. Freed from prison and sent on a dangerous mission, he must navigate dangerous political allegiances and the wrath of the gods themselves if he is to make it home again. But how can he trust anyone when he has secrets of his own? Turner's world is packed with lovable characters and twists at every turn. You'll fly through this series!


Staff Pick Logo
Unearthed Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484758052
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Disney-Hyperion - January 9th, 2018

Space travel! Alien portals! Romance! This delightful sci-fi has everything! Jules and Mia, stranded on a distant planet and scavenging for supplies to save Earth, must unlock an ancient mystery to get home safely. But with raiders on their tail and several warnings predicting disaster, their simple journey turns into an epic quest! To any reluctant reader who wants Marvel movie antics and PROMETHEUS suspense, you will tear through this rollicking adventure. Onward, if you dare!


Staff Pick Logo
Bad Feminist: Essays Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062282712
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Harper Perennial - August 5th, 2014

This semi-biographical book of essays is dynamic and entertaining! Gay takes on white privilege, tasteless movies, her own fascination with Twitter, and the constant question of identity. In turns eviscerating and humorous, Gay is a fantastic storyteller! You'll stay up late trying to finish it!


Staff Pick Logo
The Last Apprentice: Revenge of the Witch (Book 1) Cover Image
By Joseph Delaney, Patrick Arrasmith (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780060766207
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Greenwillow Books - August 1st, 2006

Do you love Goosebumps and other scary stories? Then pick up this thrilling series! Tom is studying to be a monster-hunter. He's fights witches, breaks curses, and takes on demons. But nobody is who they seem to be and Tom harbors secrets of his own. Enjoy this spooky tale--if you dare!


Staff Pick Logo
The Painted Veil (Vintage International) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780307277770
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Vintage - November 14th, 2006

If you love Hemingway, check out Maugham. This is his best work, a study of a crumbling marriage in 1920's China. This emotional, character-driven drama is as fascinating as any BBC drama, but is not half as sappy. (Invest in tissues.)


Staff Pick Logo
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062348685
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Balzer + Bray - June 7th, 2016

Simon is having a rough year. Granted, he has a part in the school play, two great friends, and while he struggles to come out to his family, overall he’s happy. But now he’s being blackmailed. This offbeat coming-of-age story is funny and touching.


Staff Pick Logo
Lumberjanes Beware the Kitten Holy: Vol. 1 Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781608866878
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Boom Box - April 7th, 2015

Summer camp sure has changed. Instead of campfire smores and bunk sing-alongs, these Lumberjanes battle Greek gods, find mystical treasure, and accept impossible quests. If their angry counselors don't ruin their summer, the hipster Yetis might. Ridiculous, heartwarming fun. Welcome to your new favorite comic series!


Staff Pick Logo
Uprooted (Temeraire) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780804179058
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Del Rey Books - March 1st, 2016

Agnieszka lives in Dvernick, a village surrounded by mystical woods. One day a wizard arrives and everything changes. Full of non-stop action, this has the eerie charm of a Grimm fairytale.


Staff Pick Logo
Vicious (Villains #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780765335357
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Tor Books - January 20th, 2015

Two college rivals become arch nemeses in this fast-paced, supernatural noir. As each side is told, and they plot their final move, the “hero” and “villain” roles blur together. Definitely a page-turner!


Staff Pick Logo
Six of Crows Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781627792127
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Henry Holt & Company - September 29th, 2015

In the dystopian city of Ketterdam, six unlikely characters get pulled into a heist. As alliances get tested and the job goes south, this misfit crew must work together to succeed in this high-stakes fantasy adventure. (No mourners, no funerals.)


Staff Pick Logo
A Drink Before the War: A Novel (Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro Series #1) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062049100
Availability: Available to Order
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - April 26th, 2011

This fast-moving (and fast-talking) crime drama follows Patrick Kenzie and Angie Gennaro, two private investigators working in Boston. Lehane writes a darkly humorous noir series that gets better with each book.


Staff Pick Logo
Elantris Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780765350374
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Tor Books - May 30th, 2006

Once a divine city, Elantris is now a decaying prison. Now the mysterious illness that struck its residents is now affecting those outside the capital. Full of political intrigue and magic! A great standalone!


Staff Pick Logo
Shadowfell Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780375871962
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Ember - July 9th, 2013

Neryn has been able to see fey all of her life. In a dangerous kingdom that outlaws magic, all she can do is hide.But one night someone starts hunting her and that all changes. This is a great introductory YA fantasy and for fans of Celtic lore.


Staff Pick Logo
Tomorrow #1: Tomorrow, When the War Began: When the War Began Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780439829106
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - June 1st, 2006

Ellie and her friends go backpacking in the Outback for a careless, fun week. But when they return home, Australia has been attacked and they are the few fugitives still left free. With little to defend themselves, they take a stand and try to rescue their families.


Staff Pick Logo
Hawkeye vs. Deadpool Cover Image
By Gerry Duggan (Text by (Art/Photo Books)), Matteo Lolli (Illustrator), Jacopo Camagni (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780785193104
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Marvel Comics - March 17th, 2015

Fans of the Marvel superhero movies will love this! Hawkeye and Deadpool team up one Halloween to solve a murder in New York City. With crashed Ubers, detective dogs, and plenty of wisecracks, it's just a day in the life of this dysfunctional team. Warning: lots of fighting.


Staff Pick Logo
Tracks: A Woman's Solo Trek Across 1700 Miles of Australian Outback (Vintage Departures) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780679762874
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Vintage - May 30th, 1995

Knowing nothing about the Outback, Davidson travels across the Australian desert. Whether describing the dangers of camel-training or the difficulties of Aboriginal reservations, this gritty memoir is inspiring.


Staff Pick Logo
A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780765376466
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Tor Books - January 19th, 2016

Parallel universes, royal intrigue, and wise-cracking pirates -- sound weird? Well, it is! But this unusual adventure delivers. Fans of Neil Gaiman will love this strange and eerie fantasy.


Staff Pick Logo
A Wizard of Earthsea (Earthsea Cycle #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780547722023
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Houghton Mifflin - September 11th, 2012

Ged wants to be a wizard. He goes to a magical school. Everything goes wrong. From curses to dragons to secret names, Earthsea is packed with adventure, and its vivid landscape (and great characters) make this series classic.


Staff Pick Logo
Howl's Moving Castle (World of Howl #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780061478789
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Greenwillow Books - April 22nd, 2008

Sophie, a hatseller living with her sisters, is cursed by a jealous witch. In order to break the spell, she runs away and stumbles upon a magical castle owned by a bizarre wizard. Weird? Yes. Entertaining? Absolutely.


Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram