Cassie Recommends

Staff Pick Badge
An Education in Malice By S. T. Gibson Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780316501453
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Redhook - February 13th, 2024

Dark academia. Rivals-to-lovers! Vampire romance!! Toxic lesbians!! Gorgeous and gothic, I devoured this blood-soaked tale. A must-read for fans of Gibson's previous work, A Dowry of Blood; it's a spiritual successor, taking place in the same universe. It's not essential for them to be read in order, though, as they don't share the same characters. If you love complicated, morally grey female characters, this will not disappoint!


Staff Pick Badge
Annie Bot: A Novel By Sierra Greer Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780063312692
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - March 19th, 2024

Can a robot feel love? Can a human love a robot? Advancements in artificial intelligence will have us reckoning with these questions sooner than we think. Annie is a Stella set to "cuddle bunny" mode, meaning she is a robot programmed to meet her owner's physical desires. While visually indistinguishable from a "real girlfriend," Annie also experiences jealousy, confusion, and curiosity, asking what makes us human if not our emotions. Annie holds a special place in my heart, even if she is circuitry and program. The reader can't help but feel empathy for her. Annie Bot tackles power dynamics, emotional abuse, intimacy, and other feminist themes, making it a wonderful choice for a book club.


Staff Pick Badge
Don't Want You Like a Best Friend: A Novel (The Mischief & Matchmaking Series #1) By Emma R. Alban Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063312005
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Avon - January 9th, 2024

This is a sapphic friends-to-lovers historical romance I couldn't put down. Watching Gwen and Beth slowly discover their feelings for each other was so adorable. The scene in which Gwen realizes WLW even exist (remember, this takes place in 1857) was iconic and unforgettable.


Staff Pick Badge
Maeve Fly By CJ Leede Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250857859
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Tor Nightfire - June 6th, 2023

By day she is the ice princess at an amusement park in California; by night, she is female American Psycho. Creative gore makes this not for the faint of heart. There is one torture scene that I felt and cannot stop thinking about.


Staff Pick Badge
Bloom By Delilah S. Dawson Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9781803365756
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Titan Books - October 3rd, 2023

I read this in one sitting because I just couldn't put it down! A cozy, sapphic dream that swiftly melts into a nightmare.


Staff Pick Badge
A Certain Hunger By Chelsea G. Summers Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781951213435
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Unnamed Press - October 18th, 2021

Of course you support women's rights, but what about women's wrongs? Delicious and deranged, this is a story of a cannibalistic food critic that's perfect for fans of unhinged women.


Staff Pick Badge
What Kind of Mother: A Novel By Clay Chapman Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781683693802
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quirk Books - September 12th, 2023

Do you have the oddly specific fear of crabs? ...Do you want to?


Staff Pick Badge
A Dowry of Blood By S. T. Gibson Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316501187
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Redhook - May 2nd, 2023

This lush Dracula retelling convinced me that revenge isn't best when sweet, but bitter and tinged with copper instead.


Staff Pick Badge
House of Hunger By Alexis Henderson Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593438480
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ace - September 5th, 2023

Gothic. Vampiric. Sapphic. For me, only those three buzzwords are needed to get me to pick up a book.


Staff Pick Badge
Silver Under Nightfall: Silver Under Nightfall #1 By Rin Chupeco Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781982195724
Availability: Available to Order
Published: S&S/Saga Press - July 25th, 2023

Queer polyamorous vampires fall for a monster hunter in this epic fantasy for fans of The Witcher and Castlevania. Sequel coming soon!


Staff Pick Badge
The Violence: A Novel By Delilah S. Dawson Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593156643
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - November 1st, 2022

Before this book, I didn't know it was possible for a post-apocalyptic horror to bring me to happy tears. These characters felt so real; I connected with Chelsea and her story so strongly that I was rooting for her with my whole heart. 


Staff Pick Badge
Nestlings By Nat Cassidy Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250265258
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Tor Nightfire - October 31st, 2023

Nat Cassidy is quickly becoming one of my favorite horror authors, and he's only written two books so far. In Nestlings, he tackles post-partum depression, disability, and antisemitism in such a delicate way while never pulling any punches when it comes to the horror. Creepy and crawling, this book had some straight up unnerving points and didn't do me any favors for my fear of looking out windows at night.


Staff Pick Badge
Camp Damascus By Chuck Tingle Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250874627
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Tor Nightfire - July 18th, 2023

In Chuck Tingle's horror debut, he examines conversion therapy and religious trauma, making this THE queer horror book. Funny at times as well as disgusting at others, Tingle does not disappoint.


Staff Pick Badge
Mortal Follies: A Novel (The Mortal Follies series #1) By Alexis Hall Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593497562
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - June 6th, 2023

Have you ever wanted a sapphic historical romance (à la Bridgerton) told from the perspective of a persnickety hobgoblin? Well, if you didn't before, I'm sure you do now.


Staff Pick Badge
Reprieve: A Novel By James Han Mattson Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063079922
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - October 18th, 2022

Have you ever heard of McKamey Manor? You know how things are just begging to go wrong at a full-contact haunted house like that? This literary thriller explores just that idea. The characters and their motivations are so rich and intricately thought out; I could write an essay about this book and enjoy my time doing it.


Staff Pick Badge
The Last House on Needless Street By Catriona Ward Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250812643
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Nightfire - September 20th, 2022

If you've asked for a horror recommendation while I'm in the store, you've been handed this book. One of my favorites of all time, this is a psychological horror that is great for mystery readers who love trying to guess the ending. There are so many twists and turns that there's no way you'll be able to see all of it coming. Told from several different perspectives, each chapter ends on a cliffhanger, convincing you to read just a few more chapters just so you can see what happens next to each character. So many threads weave this story together, but they are all satisfyingly tied in a neat little bow by the end. You will be eager to talk to others about this book when you finish it because it is just that type of story, so find me when you do! 


Staff Pick Badge
The Change: A Good Morning America Book Club PIck By Kirsten Miller Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063144057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - August 22nd, 2023

A post-menopausal "Charmed," complete with a trio of crime-solving witches. Harriett is my hero.


Staff Pick Badge
When Women Were Dragons: A Novel By Kelly Barnhill Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593466575
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - May 16th, 2023

Aren't you tired of being nice? Don't you just want to transform into a dragon, devouring all the men who made you feel small? If yes, this is a fiercely feminist alternative history for you.


Staff Pick Badge
Every Little Letter By Deborah Underwood, Joy Hwang Ruiz (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Deborah Underwood, Joy Hwang Ruiz (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525554028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - August 4th, 2020

The cutest illustrations paired with the sweetest message makes this one of my favorite picture books. Even the littlest of voices can make a big difference.


Staff Pick Badge
The Perfectly Perfect Wish By Lisa Mantchev, Jessica Courtney-Tickle (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534406193
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - February 4th, 2020

Great for social-emotional learning, this story teaches empathy and generosity.  


Staff Pick Badge
Daisy By Jessixa Bagley Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823446506
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Neal Porter Books - March 2nd, 2021

Sometimes just one friend can make all the difference. Perfect for children either starting at a new school where they may not know their peers yet or for a child who may be struggling with bullies, Daisy proves that chasing whatever brings you joy is what matters, not what anyone else thinks.


Staff Pick Badge
Pokko and the Drum By Matthew Forsythe, Matthew Forsythe (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781481480390
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - October 1st, 2019

Anyone who has ever given a little one a toy that makes noise knows the plight of Pokko's parents. Some of the funniest illustrations I've ever seen makes this one of my favorites to read-aloud.


Staff Pick Badge
Can I Give You a Squish? By Emily Neilson Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984814777
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - June 9th, 2020

A wonderful story that exhibits a young merboy learning boundaries and consent! Not everyone likes hugs and that's okay!