Amy Bass

If you're a fan of incredible sports stories, or heartwarming non-fiction, you won't want to miss our discussion and book signing with Amy Bass, author of the new release, One Goal: A Coach, a Team, and the Game that Brought a Divided Town Together.

ABOUT ONE GOAL:
In the tradition of Friday Night Lights and Outcasts United, ONE GOAL tells the inspiring story of the soccer team in a town bristling with racial tension that united Somali refugees and multi-generation Mainers in their quest for state--and ultimately national--glory.

When thousands of Somali refugees resettled in Lewiston, Maine, a struggling, overwhelmingly white town, longtime residents grew uneasy. Then the mayor wrote a letter asking Somalis to stop coming, which became a national story. While scandal threatened to subsume the town, its high school's soccer coach integrated Somali kids onto his team, and their passion began to heal old wounds. Taking readers behind the tumult of this controversial team--and onto the pitch where the teammates vied to become state champions and achieved a vital sense of understanding--ONE GOAL is a timely story about overcoming the prejudices that divide us.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Amy Bass was born and raised in New England, the daughter of two noted local journalists, in a house filled with books and a yard filled with an enormous vegetable garden, berry patches, a small orchard, and about thirty acres of woods going straight up a mountain. Now a New Yorker, she makes sure that the Red Sox, the Berkshire Hills, and Cape Cod's beaches and bike paths remain big pieces of her heart.  

For school, Bass went to Bates College in Lewiston, Maine, where her fourth book, ONE GOAL, is set.  She received a Ph.D. with distinction from Stony Brook University, and has had a fruitful career as a professor and scholar of sport, culture, and politics.

In addition to her academic work, she's written about sport and politics for Slate, Salon, the Allrounder, and CNN Opinion.  She hosts a weekly radio show, Conversations with Amy Bass, on WVOX.  In television, she served as senior research supervisor for NBC Olympic Sports across eight Olympic Games, winning an Emmy Award for her work at the London Olympics in 2012.

Event date: 
Monday, March 26, 2018 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
One Goal: A Coach, a Team, and the Game That Brought a Divided Town Together Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316396547
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Hachette Books - February 27th, 2018

Signed Copies

Can't make it to an event? We're always happy to set a signed copy aside for you or put one in the mail. Just add the book to your cart, and in the comments section, let us know that you want a signed copy, and tell us if you'd like the author to personalize the inscription (when available). If you would like it personalized, be sure to place your order at least 24 hours before the event. Personalized books must be paid for in advance.

Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram