Erin Entrada Kelly with Jeff Kinney

Search for Your Next Book

In this virtual event, Newbery Medal-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly celebrates her most personal book to date, MAYBE MAYBE MARISOL RAINEY. Readers will love this beautifully illustrated novel about summer, friendship, and overcoming fears. DIARY OF A WIMPY KID author Jeff Kinney will interview Erin during the event. MAYBE MAYBE MARISOL RAINEY is a must-have for early elementary grade readers. Comparable to the Ramona books and the Clementine books, Marisol is destined to be a "classic". Save your spot in the free event below. 

Erin Entrada Kelly has kindly autographed bookplates for anyone who orders MAYBE MAYBE MARISOL RAINEY from An Unlikely Story, while supplies last. 

powered by Crowdcast

ABOUT THE BOOK:
“Utterly endearing!” —Annie Barrows, New York Times-bestselling author of the Ivy + Bean books

"Hilarious and heart-melting.” —Sara Pennypacker, New York Times-bestselling author of Pax

Introducing eight-year-old Marisol Rainey—an irresistible new character from Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling Erin Entrada Kelly!

Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey is an illustrated novel about summer, friendship, and overcoming fears, told with warm humor and undeniable appeal. Fans of Clementine, The Year of Billy Miller, and Ramona the Pest will be thrilled to meet Marisol.

Marisol Rainey’s mother was born in the Philippines. Marisol’s father works and lives part-time on an oil rig in the Gulf of Mexico. And Marisol, who has a big imagination and likes to name inanimate objects, has a tree in her backyard she calls Peppina . . . but she’s way too scared to climb it. This all makes Marisol the only girl in her small Louisiana town with a mother who was born elsewhere and a father who lives elsewhere (most of the time)—the only girl who’s fearful of adventure and fun.

Will Marisol be able to salvage her summer and have fun with Jada, her best friend? Maybe. Will Marisol figure out how to get annoying Evie Smythe to leave her alone? Maybe. Will Marisol ever get to spend enough real time with her father? Maybe. Will Marisol find the courage to climb Peppina? Maybe.  

Told in short chapters with illustrations by the author on nearly every page, Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey is a must-have for early elementary grade readers. Erin Entrada Kelly celebrates the small but mighty Marisol, the joys of friendship, and the triumph of overcoming your fears in this stunning new novel for readers of Kevin Henkes, Meg Medina, Andrew Clements, Sara Pennypacker,  and Kate DiCamillo. 

Features black-and-white artwork throughout by Erin Entrada Kelly.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly was awarded the Newbery Medal for Hello, Universe and a Newbery Honor for We Dream of Space. She grew up in Lake Charles, Louisiana, and now lives in Delaware. She is a professor of children’s literature in the graduate fiction and publishing programs at Rosemont College, where she earned her MFA, and is on the faculty at Hamline University. Her short fiction has been nominated for the Philippines Free Press Literary Award for Short Fiction and the Pushcart Prize. Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut novel, Blackbird Fly, was a Kirkus Best Book, a School Library Journal Best Book, an ALSC Notable Book, and an Asian/Pacific American Literature Honor Book. She is also the author of The Land of Forgotten Girls, winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature; You Go First, a Spring 2018 Indie Next Pick; Lalani of the Distant Sea, an Indie Next Pick; and Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey, which she also illustrated. The author’s mother was the first in her family to immigrate to the United States from the Philippines, and she now lives in Cebu.

Event date: 
Wednesday, May 5, 2021 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062970428
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 4th, 2021

Signed Copies

Due to the nature of virtual events, signed copies may not always be available. Information about signed copies will be included in the event description.

Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram