Jessica Goodman with Tiffany D. Jackson - Virtual Event

Search for Your Next Book

Tune in for this virtual event with Jessica Goodman, op-ed editor at Cosmopolitan and author of THEY WISH THEY WERE US as she introduces her sophomore young adult suspense novel, THEY'LL NEVER CATCH US. Jessica describes her book as “a story about anger, desire, strength, and girls who want to break things.” Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Karen McManus, THEY'LL NEVER CATCH US is a fast-paced thriller about two sisters vying for the top spot on their cross-country team--until a teammate's disappearance throws their lives off course. During this event, Jessica will be in conversation with Tiffany D. Jackson, critically acclaimed author of ALLEGEDLY, MONDAY'S NOT COMING, and LET ME HEAR A RHYME. Save your spot in the free event below. 

Jessica has kindly signed bookplates for everyone purchasing her new book from An Unlikely Story, while supplies last. 

powered by Crowdcast

ABOUT THE BOOK:
An utter page-turner. Goodman's voice is razor-sharp and keenly precise. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn --Tiffany D. Jackson NYT Bestselling Author of White Smoke and Grown

From rising star Jessica Goodman, author of They Wish They Were Us, comes a new fast-paced thriller about two sisters vying for the top spot on their cross-country team--until a teammate's disappearance throws their lives off course.

Stella and Ellie Steckler are only a year apart, but their different personalities make their relationship complicated. Stella is single-minded, driven, and she keeps to herself. Cross-country running is her life and she won't let anything get in the way of being the best. Her sister Ellie is a talented runner too, but she also lets herself have fun. She has friends. She goes to parties. She has a life off the course.

The sisters do have one thing in common, though: the new girl, Mila Keene. Both Stecklers' lives are upended when Mila comes to town. At first, Ellie and Stella view the new star athlete as a threat. But soon Ellie can't help but be drawn to her warm, charming personality. After her best friend moved away and her first boyfriend betrayed her, Ellie's been looking for a friend to share her secrets. Stella finds herself noticing the ways she and Mila are similar. Mila is smart and strong--she's someone Stella can finally connect with. As the two get closer, Stella becomes something she vowed she'd never be: distracted.

With regionals approaching and college scouts taking notice, the pressure is on. Each girl has their future on the line and they won't let friendships get in their way. But then, suddenly, Mila goes out on a training run and never returns. No one knows what happened, but all eyes are on the Steckler sisters.

ABOUT THE AUTHORS:
Jessica Goodman is the bestselling author of young adult novels They Wish They Were Us, They'll Never Catch Us, and The Counselors. She has held editorial roles at Entertainment Weekly, HuffPost, and Cosmopolitan, where she won a National Magazine Award in Personal Service. A graduate of the University of Pennsylvania and Columbia's Graduate School of Journalism, she lives in Brooklyn.

Tiffany D. Jackson is the NYT Bestselling, award winning author of YA novels Monday’s Not ComingAllegedlyLet Me Hear A Rhyme, Grown, her forthcoming 2021 titles WHITE SMOKE, SANTA IN THE CITY and co-author of BLACKOUT. Coretta Scott King — John Steptoe New Talent Award-winner and the NAACP Image Award-nominee, she received her bachelor of arts in film from Howard University, and has over a decade in TV/Film experience. The Brooklyn native is currently residing in the borough she loves, most likely multitasking.

Event date: 
Monday, July 26, 2021 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Staff Pick Badge
They'll Never Catch Us Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593114322
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Razorbill - July 27th, 2021

They Wish They Were Us Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780593114315
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Razorbill - June 29th, 2021

Pre-Order Now Badge
White Smoke Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063029095
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 14th, 2021

Grown Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062840356
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 15th, 2020

Monday's Not Coming Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062422682
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - April 23rd, 2019

Let Me Hear a Rhyme Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062840332
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 19th, 2020

Allegedly Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062422651
Availability: Backordered - Shipping will be Delayed
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - April 10th, 2018

Signed Copies

Due to the nature of virtual events, signed copies may not always be available. Information about signed copies will be included in the event description.

Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram