Jerry Craft

Author-illustrator Jerry Craft will return to An Unlikely Story to introduce his new graphic novel, NEW KID, which is already garnering starred reviews!  Jerry was one of our very first events here, and we are thrilled to welcome him back to Plainville! 

ABOUT THE BOOK:
For fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang comes this full-color, contemporary graphic novel about a twelve-year-old kid from Washington Heights who starts the seventh grade at a new posh private school, where diversity is low and expectations are high.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan just happens to be one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

With humor, heart, and honesty, cartoonist Jerry Craft shines a spotlight on the experience of being a black student in a predominantly white school, tackling tough topics like racism and microaggressions. This full-color graphic novel will also speak to any kid who’s dealt with the challenges of middle school.

ABOUT JERRY:
Jerry Craft is an author-illustrator who has worked on numerous books for young readers. Jerry created Mama’s Boyz, an award-winning comic strip. He has won five African American Literary Awards and cofounded the Black Comic Book Festival. He received his BFA from the School of Visual Arts and lives in Connecticut.

Event date: 
Saturday, February 16, 2019 - 1:00pm
Event address: 
New Kid Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062691194
Availability: Available to Order
Published: HarperCollins - February 5th, 2019

Signed Copies

Can't make it to an event? We're always happy to set a signed copy aside for you or put one in the mail. Just add the book to your cart, and in the comments section, let us know that you want a signed copy, and tell us if you'd like the author to personalize the inscription (when available). If you would like it personalized, be sure to place your order at least 24 hours before the event. Personalized books must be paid for in advance.

Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram