Raina Telgemeier & Vera Brosgol

Be prepared to smile! Join us in welcoming two award-winning graphic novelists, Raina Telgemeier, creator of the Eisner Award-winning graphic memoirs Smile and Sisters, and Vera Brosgol, creator of the 2017 Caldecott Honor picture book, LEAVE ME ALONE! Raina and Vera will discuss the inspirations for their graphic novels SMILE and BE PREPARED, followed by a Q&A and signing.

Tickets for this event are SOLD OUT. If you would like to purchase a signed copy of Raina or Vera’s books please click the book below and add it to your shopping cart. While ordering, please leave a note in the comments section to have the book signed and to whom you would like it personalized. You can also call the store at (508) 699-0244 and order your copy over the phone.  

ABOUT SMILE:
Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.

ABOUT BE PREPARED:
A gripping and hilarious middle-grade summer camp memoir from the author of Anya's Ghost.

All Vera wants to do is fit in—but that’s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Vera’s single mother can’t afford that sort of luxury, but there's one summer camp in her price range—Russian summer camp.

Vera is sure she's found the one place she can fit in, but camp is far from what she imagined. And nothing could prepare her for all the "cool girl" drama, endless Russian history lessons, and outhouses straight out of nightmares!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Cece Bell, and Victoria Jamieson, Vera Brosgol's Be Prepared is a funny and relatable middle-grade graphic novel about navigating your own culture, struggling to belong, and the value of true friendship.

ABOUT THE AUTHORS:
Raina Telgemeier is the #1 New York Times bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning creator of Smile and Sisters, which are both graphic memoirs based on her childhood. She is also the creator of Drama and Ghosts, and is the adapter and illustrator of four Baby-sitters Club graphic novels. Raina lives in the San Francisco Bay Area. To learn more, visit her online at goRaina.com.

Vera Brosgol was born in Moscow, Russia, in 1984 and moved to the United States when she was five. Her first graphic novel Anya’s Ghost was published in 2011 by First Second and won Eisner, Cybils, and Harvey awards. Her picture book LEAVE ME ALONE! was a 2017 Caldecott Honor book. She was a storyboard artist at Laika for ten years, working on animated films including Coraline and Kubo and the Two Strings. She lives in Portland, Oregon, and actually really likes camping now.

Event date: 
Monday, February 11, 2019 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
An Unlikely Story (Second Story)
Smile Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545132060
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Graphix - February 1st, 2010

Be Prepared Cover Image
By Vera Brosgol, Vera Brosgol (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781626724457
Availability: Available to Order
Published: First Second - April 24th, 2018

Anya's Ghost Cover Image
By Vera Brosgol, Vera Brosgol (Illustrator)
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781250040015
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Square Fish - March 25th, 2014

Staff Pick Badge
Ghosts Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780545540612
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Graphix - September 13th, 2016

Sisters Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545540605
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Graphix - August 26th, 2014

Leave Me Alone! Cover Image
By Vera Brosgol, Vera Brosgol (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626724419
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Roaring Brook Press - September 13th, 2016

Signed Copies

Can't make it to an event? We're always happy to set a signed copy aside for you or put one in the mail. Just add the book to your cart, and in the comments section, let us know that you want a signed copy, and tell us if you'd like the author to personalize the inscription (when available). If you would like it personalized, be sure to place your order at least 24 hours before the event. Personalized books must be paid for in advance.

Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram