Rebecca Serle

What will your life look like in five years? Rebecca Serle’s new book, IN FIVE YEARS, plays with this question when an ambitious young woman has a vision of her life five years in the future. Perfect for fans of ME BEFORE YOU, IN FIVE YEARS is a love story that brings heartbreak and joy in equal measure. At the event, Rebecca will be joined onstage by Robin Kall, of Reading with Robin, to talk about her new book, answer audience questions, and sign copies. Beer and wine will be available for purchase.

IN FIVE YEARS has been chosen by Good Morning America's March Book Club pick! 

ABOUT THE BOOK:
Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day—a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever. 

Where do you see yourself in five years?

When Type-A Manhattan lawyer Dannie Cohan is asked this question at the most important interview of her career, she has a meticulously crafted answer at the ready. Later, after nailing her interview and accepting her boyfriend's marriage proposal, Dannie goes to sleep knowing she is right on track to achieve her five-year plan.

But when she wakes up, she's suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, and beside a very different man. The television news is on in the background, and she can just make out the scrolling date. It's the same night—December 15—but 2025, five years in the future.

After a very intense, shocking hour, Dannie wakes again, at the brink of midnight, back in 2020. She can't shake what has happened. It certainly felt much more than merely a dream, but she isn't the kind of person who believes in visions. That nonsense is only charming coming from free-spirited types, like her lifelong best friend, Bella. Determined to ignore the odd experience, she files it away in the back of her mind.

That is, until four-and-a-half years later, when by chance Dannie meets the very same man from her long-ago vision.

Brimming with joy and heartbreak, In Five Years is an unforgettable love story that reminds us of the power of loyalty, friendship, and the unpredictable nature of destiny.  

"I started and finished this book in one day on vacation, with tears streaming down my face on the beach when I reached the end. What a fabulous tribute to friendship that simultaneously invokes P.S. I Love You and Sliding Doors." – EMILY CROWE, An Unlikely Story 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Rebecca Serle is an author and television writer who lives in New York and Los Angeles. Serle co-developed the hit TV adaptation of her YA series Famous in Love, and is also the author of The Dinner List, and YA novels The Edge of Falling and When You Were Mine. She received her MFA from the New School in NYC. Find out more at RebeccaSerle.com. 

ABOUT ROBIN:
Robin Kall (rhymes with ball) has been connecting readers and writers for almost 20 years. From her can't miss author events and monthly reading series to her weekly "ish" podcast and active facebook pages, Robin will tell you what to read. She can either be found with a book in her hands or with her beloved corgi, Benny Irving, in her lap.

Event date: 
Thursday, March 12, 2020 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
An Unlikely Story (Second Story)
Staff Pick Badge
In Five Years: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982137441
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Atria Books - March 10th, 2020

The Dinner List: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250295194
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Flatiron Books - June 4th, 2019

Signed Copies

Due to the nature of virtual events, signed copies may not always be available. Information about signed copies will be included in the event description.

Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram