Kayla recommends

Staff Pick Logo
The Dark Between Stars: Poems Cover Image
By Atticus
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982104863
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Atria Books - September 4th, 2018

Best-selling author of "Love Her Wild," Atticus, brings us another breathtakingly honest and bittersweet collection about love, beauty, and Parisian nights with "The Dark Between Stars." Step into Atticus' world and see the small, significant moments of life through his eyes. Experience the sensations of falling in love, falling out of love, and finding both yourself and new love in this magnificent set of poems. If you loved "Love Her Wild" you'll want to curl up with a mug of tea or a glass of whiskey and fall in love with "The Dark Between Stars".


Staff Pick Logo
The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, Book 1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545424936
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - July 30th, 2013

Old Welsh legend is brought to life in Stiefvater's incredible series. Follow Blue Sargent and a gang of boys from Aglionby Academy as they try to keep the balance of magic in their town's ley lines. A fantastic tale of magical realism and traditional legend reimagined and brought to life in the modern world.


Staff Pick Logo
the witch doesn't burn in this one Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781449489427
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - March 6th, 2018

A stunning sequel to her debut, "The Princess Saves Herself in This One". Empowering, emotional, and heartfelt, Lovelace shows the resiliency of the human spirit and the pure power within us all. Utterly moving, Lovelace reminds us that women are some type of magic.


Staff Pick Logo
As Old as Time: A Twisted Tale Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484707289
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Disney Press - September 6th, 2016

The perfect twisted telling of Beauty and the Beast, blending old plot structure and characters with new details and exciting twists. Learn the backstory of why the Beast was really cursed and by whom -- Belle's mother! A thoroughly enriching tale that totally enhances the magic of Beauty and the Beast!


Staff Pick Logo
Prince in Disguise Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484768174
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Disney-Hyperion - December 19th, 2017

Meet Dylan- a gangly, tomboyish, introverted teen who is thrust into the spotlight as her beauty pageant sister has found love on the reality TV show, "The Prince in Disguise". Now Dylan, who has always been in the shadow of her sister, must fly to Scotland for the Royal Wedding. There, she meets Jamie, an eccentric and quiet boy staying at the castle with the Royal Family. Strohm spins a sweet tale of love, family and accepting yourself in this lovely Scottish YA romance. Set against a Christmas backdrop, old fairytale castles in the Scottish Highlands, and young love, Strohm creates a truly magic story! A 5 star read!


Staff Pick Logo
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316310277
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 2nd, 2018

Holly Black writes another smash-hit faerie novel! Human girl, Jude, lives in the Fae World with the fae that murdered her parents. The Fae World is all she's ever known, and even as a teenager she's still trying to prove she belongs. With a change of power coming to her kingdom, she becomes a spy for a prince and comes to depend on the unlikliest of allies. Overall, Black brought an amazing concept of life in a dark, lush world. A fantastic read for lovers of Faerie lore!


Staff Pick Logo
The Wizards of Once Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316508339
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 3rd, 2017

Meet Xar and Wish: a boy wizard and girl warrior who are sworn enemies. But when they stumble upon each other and Xar discovers Wish's magic, he sets out to steal it! This hilarious adventure of magic and wonder is filled with beautiful pictures and an amazing tale of friendship, leadership, and courage.


Staff Pick Logo
The Glass Spare Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062491282
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 24th, 2017

Enter the lush world of Wil, princess turned spy turned vagabond, who discovers she has the magical gift of turning living things to gemstone. But is it a gift or a curse? Follow Wil in this amazing, gripping gem of a fantasy novel to find out!


Staff Pick Logo
Girl Up: Kick Ass, Claim Your Woman Card, and Crush Everyday Sexism Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501169199
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Touchstone - July 11th, 2017

The perfect book to empower, inspire and unite everyone in the feminist cause! Bates hilariously writes to shut down society's expectations and stereotypes of women, to encourage girls everywhere to be themselves, dream big, and stand up for themselves! A must-read for every woman, young and old!


Staff Pick Logo
Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780812995343
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Random House - February 14th, 2017

Saunders presents an entirely different look at the life of Abraham Lincoln and his grief following the death of his son, Willie. This book spins fact, fantasy and the supernatural into a powerhouse novel sure to transport you back to the Civil War with Abe and Willie. An all-star page-turner!


Staff Pick Logo
The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic Cover Image
By Leigh Bardugo, Sara Kipin (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250122520
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Imprint - September 26th, 2017

The author of "Shadow and Bone" and "Six of Crows" spins a wonderful collection of magic and lore. This is a collection of myths, fairy-tales and legends to enhance the Grisha Universe! Get lost in the fantastical world of Grisha legends in this beautifully illustrated book of stories!


Staff Pick Logo
All the Crooked Saints Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780545930802
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Scholastic Press - October 10th, 2017

Stiefvater spins another beautiful tale with "All the Crooked Saints"! Dive into the world of Bicho Raro, Colorado and the lives of the Soria family as they try and save the souls of the Pilgrims that come to them for help. What happens when a Soria is the one that needs saving? Read "All the Crooked Saints," a story that demonstrates that sometimes all you need to be saved is to have the will to see yourself for who you are and the want to change yourself.


Staff Pick Logo
Love Her Wild: Poems Cover Image
By Atticus
$17.99
ISBN: 9781501171239
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Atria Books - July 11th, 2017

Atticus Poetry brings a fantastic collection of poetry and art. His poems are honest, lovely and sweet and encapsulate the complexity of human emotion. If you love being in love, you'll love "Love Her Wild."


Staff Pick Logo
Outlander: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780385319959
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Delta - August 10th, 1998

Travel back in time with Claire Randall, a WWII nurse, to 18th century Scotland. There she meets young Jamie Fraser and works to stop the impending Jacobite Revolution, discover the circumstances that brought her to Scotland, and find love. Now a smash-hit TV series on Starz!


Staff Pick Logo
The Stonekeeper (Amulet #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780439846813
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Graphix - January 1st, 2008

Kibuishi paints a wonderful world of action and adventure in this graphic novel series! Dive in with Emily and her brother Navin, as they embark to master a prophecy and power left to them by their late grandfather. Enchanting and witty tale for any age!


Staff Pick Logo
Royal Bastards Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781484767658
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Disney-Hyperion - May 30th, 2017

For once the bastard is the knight in shining armor! In this hilarious, young adult adventure, daughter of Lord Kent, Tilla and her fellow bastard friends go on a journey to stop a budding revolution. This book is a terrific tale of love, friendship, bravery and self-discovery. Perfect for fans of My Lady Jane and A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue.


Staff Pick Logo
Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781484780985
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Disney Press - January 31st, 2017

Lovers of Beauty and the Beast will fall in love with this enchanting original spinoff. Donnelly brings the beloved Disney characters to life in a gripping adventure about the power of love in this Middle Grades to Young Adult transition book.


Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram