Lisa and Matt McMann

Husband and wife duo Lisa and Matt McMann join us to discuss their newest middle grade books! Rebel Undercover, the third installment of Lisa's The Forgotten Five series, is like X-Men meets Spy Kids, with lots of hijinks, humor, and family drama. Matt’s Terror in Shadow Canyon, book three of the Monsterious series, combines monsters with mystery, perfect for fans of Goosebumps. Lisa and Matt will discuss and sign their books, as well as answer audience questions!

ABOUT THE BOOKS: 
Rebel Undercover: 
Estero City is in an uproar following the exposure of President Fuerte as a supernatural, as well as the surprise announcement by Magdalia Palacio—Seven’s mother—that she will oppose Fuerte in the upcoming election. The forgotten five and their allies know the president is corrupt to the core. But no one knows if Magdalia can be trusted.
Meanwhile, Birdie, Seven, Tenner, and Brix are reeling from Cabot’s decision to leave the group and join her parents, who are collaborating with Fuerte and his gang of supernatural criminals. Does that make Cabot their enemy, too?
Still, there’s work to be done. The Librarian, the five’s trusted confidante, has a daring new plan: Lada will go undercover and pretend to work for the president while gathering intelligence for the supernatural resistance. It’s a dangerous assignment, setting the group up for a showdown with their most powerful enemy yet—their own criminal parents.

Terror in Shadow Canyon: 
Twelve-year-old Tegan and his friends are excited to set out on a weeklong backpacking trip through the wilderness in Shadow Canyon, known for its vast forests and jaw-droppingly deep canyon. But after the group sets off on a little-used trail to visit a remote waterfall, they soon discover that the path markers they’ve been following have mysteriously disappeared, leaving them hopelessly lost.
As Tegan and his friends try to find their way back to civilization, they begin to notice strange things in the woods: small, oblong stones dotting the landscape in unexpected formations, tree roots that seem to be moving on their own, and creepy glowing eyes peering out of the shadows at night. Before long, they discover that something sinister stalks the forest—a creature with a hunger for human flesh. Can they make it out of Shadow Canyon alive?

ABOUT THE AUTHORS: 
Lisa McMann is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of dozens of books, including The Forgotten Five series; The Unwanteds series; the Wake trilogy; and Clarice the Brave. She is married to fellow writer Matt McMann, and they have two adult children—their son is artist Kilian McMann, and their daughter is actor Kennedy McMann. Lisa spends most of her time in Arizona, California, and Vancouver, British Columbia, and loves to cook, read, and watch reality TV. You can visit Lisa at lisamcmann.com and follow her on Twitter, Instagram, and TikTok @lisa_mcmann.

As a professional musician, Matt McMann played an NFL stadium, a cruise ship, and the International Twins Convention. Now he writes the kind of spooky mystery adventure books he loved as a kid. He’s hiked the Pacific Northwest, cruised Loch Ness, and chased a ghost on a mountain. While he missed Bigfoot and Nessie, he caught the ghost. He enjoys brainstorming new books with his wife, New York Times bestselling author Lisa McMann, viewing his son Kilian McMann’s artwork, and watching his daughter, actor Kennedy McMann, on television. Visit him online at mattmcmann.com, and follow him on Twitter and Instagram @matt_mcmann.

 

Tuesday, October 3, 2023 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
111 South Street
Plainville, MA 02762
Books: 
Rebel Undercover (The Forgotten Five, Book 3) By Lisa McMann Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593615805
Availability: Available to Order
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - June 6th, 2023

Terror in Shadow Canyon (Monsterious, Book 3) By Matt McMann Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593530757
Availability: Available to Order
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - August 22nd, 2023