Miranda recommends

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Staff Pick Logo
Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All: By M. T. Anderson, Candace Fleming, Stephanie Hemphill, Lisa Ann Sandell, Jennifer Donnelly, Linda Sue Cover Image
By Candace Fleming (Concept by)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781524716196
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Schwartz & Wade Books - May 1st, 2018

Fatal Throne pulls back the curtain on a story we all remember from history class- the infamous Henry VIII and his doomed six wives. Rather than focusing on the king himself, this collection of stories adds a feminist twist by giving each of the wives their own voice. As each woman plots and struggles to try and stay alive, we are given a glimpse into who they are as individuals outside of their husband. We see their likes, their hopes and dreams, and ultimately, get a better understanding of just how powerful and independent these women were in a time were female autonomy was punished harshly, and how they were often and tragically silenced because of it.


Staff Pick Logo
Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399549786
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 2nd, 2018

Before he was crusading around Gotham as Batman, Bruce Wayne was just a young billionaire who wanted to help keep his city safe from the violence plaguing it. Unable to stay out of any injustices he sees, Bruce ends up serving community service in Arkham Asylum where he meets a mysterious young prisoner who is part of a murderous group responsible for a crime wave striking the elite of Gotham. With Bruce a potential next target, he finds himself drawn to her while determined to find and stop the other members still out there. Marie Lu does a great job of portraying a young Bruce Wayne while paying homage to the decades of Batman comic lore. Nightwalker is the perfect step in seeing Bruce start to become the caped vigilante he will be known as someday.


Staff Pick Logo
The Magic Misfits Cover Image
By Neil Patrick Harris, Lissy Marlin (Illustrator), Kyle Hinton (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316391825
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 21st, 2017

When street magician Carter runs away from his con artist uncle, he finds a group of young misfits like himself who team up to take down the greedy owner of a nearby carnival.


Staff Pick Logo
A Babysitter's Guide to Monster Hunting #1 (Babysitter's Guide to Monsters #1) Cover Image
By Joe Ballarini, Vivienne To (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9780062437839
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - June 20th, 2017

Middle-schooler Kelly Ferguson's first time babysitting takes a turn for the worst when the boy she's watching is kidnapped by an actual monster. Turns out that all the stories about things that go bump in the night are real and Kelly must team up with a group of professional monster hunters/babysitters if she wants to get her charge back.


Staff Pick Logo
The Uncommoners #1: The Crooked Sixpence Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780553498431
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 31st, 2017

Ivy Sparrow never thought a toilet brush could give her so much trouble, but when two maniacs weilding them show up and swear she has something she doesn't, she's forced into a world where common items are given special uncommon powers. Along with her brother, Ivy must unravel the secrets of the town and her family before it's too late.


Staff Pick Logo
Voltron: Legendary Defender, Volume 1 Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781941302217
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Lion Forge - February 7th, 2017

Fans of the Netflix series will love this additional look into the Paladians' lives. With alternating comics from Shiro, Keith, Hunk, Lance and Pidge, this first volume serves as a great extra episode in season one.


Staff Pick Logo
Passenger Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484715772
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Disney-Hyperion - January 5th, 2016

You've never quite read a time travel book like this! Etta discovers she is a time traveler, the race is on to save her mom and herself from the people who want to use her! With help from fellow time traveler Nicholas, Etta starts down on a journey that will forever change her.


Staff Pick Logo
Why Not Me? Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780804138147
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Crown Archetype - September 15th, 2015

Mindy Kaling is back and funny as ever in this collection of essays on life, love, and the pursuit of finding a really good drink! This book is perfect for fans of Tina Fey's Bossypants or Amy Poehler's Yes Please!.


Staff Pick Logo
Room Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316098328
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Back Bay Books - May 18th, 2011

For 5 year-old Jack, room is all he's known. For Jack's mother, it's the place she's been trapped after being kidnapped 7 years ago. As Jack grows more curious, Ma grows more desperate to escape for both their sakes. A powerful and moving story about survival, courage, resilience, and the power of love.

 


Staff Pick Logo
The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #1) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781423160915
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 6th, 2015

Magnus Chase is no one special. Homeless and living in the streets of Boston, his life is forever changed when he finds out he is related to the Norse gods. Like Percy Jackson before him, Magnus is sarcastic, sassy and everything you could want in a hero.


Staff Pick Logo
The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781442421776
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - October 23rd, 2012

The sole survivor of a building collapse that killed her three friends, Mara Dyer thinks moving away to Florida will make her life normal again. It won’t. When she starts seeing things, she hopes her problems are all in her head. They aren’t. And things will never be the same.


Staff Pick Logo
Vendetta Cover Image
$20.89
ISBN: 9780545699822
Availability: Backordered
Published: Chicken House - February 24th, 2015

Sophie has been trying her best to lay low after her father is sent to prison, but all that changes when a family of five brothers moves to town and Sophie forms an intense connection with Nic. But when Nic pushes her away, Sophie’s search for the truth is more complicated than she could imagine.


Staff Pick Logo
Fallout (Lois Lane) Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9781630790066
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Switch Press - March 1st, 2016

Lois Lane is known for being a certain superhero’s girlfriend, but make no mistake -- Lois is the hero of this story. At sixteen years old, Lois is already flexing her prowess as a reporter and detective in Metropolis.


Share YOUR Unlikely Story! facebookfacebooktwittertwitterinstagraminstagram